Stacks Image 1104
Stacks Image 1084
Call Us Now
07 5482 1999
Fax Number
07 5482 8696
OUR ADDRESS
17 Violet Street, Gympie QLD 4570
(Just off the Bruce Highway)
TripAdvisor Logo

Read more unbiased reviews of
The Shady Rest Motel

REVIEWS
review icon
Would like to say that our trip to...
by Charmayne Galway
April 1, 2016 - Really Liked It  
Would like to say that our trip to gympie was for a funeral but the process was made alot easier with the hospitality shown by Judy and Wes.. Will definately return if the chance arises.. thanks Judy and Wes..
review icon
Transit with kids
by Tim L
March 28, 2016 - Really Liked It  
Wes and Judy were very welcoming and friendly. Their breakfasts are great value. Their premises is clean and the room was good with good entertainment options. The bathrooms are good with good water pressure. Judy shared her local knowledge with us and we really enjoyed our stay.
review icon
Couldn't ask for more! 5 stars!
by morganj92
March 13, 2016 - Really Liked It  
After having an awful experience at another Gympie motel; Wes stayed up late to check us in & was absolutely lovely. Hot shower, Immaculately clean room and Comfy bed & definitely helped us out! Would stay again in a heartbeat! The hospitality we received at the very last minute helped us two very tired campers!!!
review icon
Wonderful stay & wonderful hosts
by Brookster75
December 18, 2015 - Really Liked It  
“I stayed at Shady Rest for three weeks on a business trip. From the moment I checked in, the hosts Judy & Wes Hickman, instantly made me feel at home. Such a rare thing to find these days especially when their hospitality is 100% genuine. The room was comfortable, quiet, very clean, free wi-fi helped enormously and the breakfast on offer is incredibly generous and delivered to your door on time, every time. We made use if the BBQ facilities by the pool and were offered additional supplies - oil, lights, utensils. Nothing was ever any trouble and if I find myself back in Gympie then I will only ever stay at Shady Rest. Cannot highly recommend this motel highly enough.”
Stacks Image 8160
Wonderful friendly place to stay when travelling
by Selina Pitt
March 18, 2012 - Really Liked It  
“We arrived in the early hours of the morning and was greeted with a smile. The rooms were nice and clean and a good size for our large family definately staying again. Great breakfast as well.”
Stacks Image 8199
Wonderful place to stay.
by Kel Braden
January 7, 2012 - Really Liked It  
“A four day stay in the new year was very enjoyable. We used the Shady Rest as a base to travel the district and take in the sites. The rooms were always clean and fresh when we returned. The rooms are very quiet and we found we could quite compfortably take a nanna nap during the day. Wes and Judy are lovely hosts and made us feel at home. As a final comment I would like to pass my compliments to the breakfast chef.”
Stacks Image 8238
Thanks for a Great Stay
by Sharon Meredith
September 5, 2012 - Really Liked It  
“Hi Wes & Judy,
We would just like to thank you for your excellent friendly & helpful service on our arrival last night. Your recommendation of the RSL for dinner was spot on! Great service & food, realistic prices too. The room was lovely & clean, fantastic shower this morning - hot, hot water & lots of it! The bed was quite comfortable & we slept well. Thank you for having 2 chairs at the breakfast bar - we get sick of sitting on the bed while trying to eat breakfast. Breakfast was terrific - huge serves! Nothing was too much effort for you. I think John may have gone overboard when ordering - Looks like we have morning tea sorted! Once again - thank you, we will drop in again on our next trip through Gympie.
Regards & Thanks . . John & Sharon Meredith”
Stacks Image 8277
A home away from home…
by Brendan D
September 1, 2012 - Really Liked It  
“My wife & I can recommend the Shady Rest Motel, the owners Wes & Judy made our stay so enjoyable and nothing was too much trouble for them. We always returned to a clean & fresh room as it was serviced daily. Wes & Judy were so friendly and welcoming and really made you feel like part of their family. Their customer service prior to our arrival (ie: telephone contact) and while we were staying at the Shady Rest could not be faulted and was well above what we have experienced elsewhere. If you are in Gympie & want to stay somewhere with good old country hospitality, you will find this & more at the Shady Rest Motel, we would not want to stay anywhere else.”
Stacks Image 4152
A Wonderful Experience
by Jess Jeffery
August 29, 2011 - Really Liked It  
“My partner and I had just flown in from Canada only a few days before. We had a terrible experience those first few days down in Caboolture until we stopped in at the Shady Rest as we were passing through Gympie. Judy and Wes were so extremely accommodating and wonderful to deal with. They offered us the recently renovated spa suite were we could relax and soak away our troubles. I would recommend the Shady Rest to anyone passing through Gympie as it is well worth it. It is rare to experience such a warm welcome from a business owner. It was a wonderful experience that I hope to have many more times.”
MORE REVIEWS FROM AROUND THE WEB
Stacks Image 4220
Great Getaway
March 19, 2012 - Really Liked It  
“We have just returned from a 4 day Getaway with 20 people of our Seniors group from Carindale in Brisbane.
We stayed at Shady Rest Motel in Gympie and was just an absolutely wonderful place to stay, relax, be refreshed in lovely quiet, clean, well appointed motel rooms, Shady Rest is so accessible with clean tidy grounds with a lovely pool for those who liked a dip.But Above ALL was the welcome, care, friendly service from Wes & Judy who made us feel so at home and comfortable. We would thoroughly recommend Shady Rest Motel.”

Stuart & Anne.
Stacks Image 4276
Thank you sooo much
February 2, 2011 - Really Liked It  
“Thank you sooo much for your kind, warm welcoming when we arrived. We felt like a part of the family. Will definately recommend this to anyone. Best place ever. Beautiful clean room and very comfy! Thanks again so much.”

Hayley & Penny
Cairns, North Queensland
Stacks Image 4331
Had a great stay
January 1, 2011 - Really Liked It  
“We had a great stay at the Shady rest. Thanks a lot Wes & Judy”

User: Stalmate Gladstone QLD
Stacks Image 4365
2 friends on a road trip
August 30, 2010 - Really Liked It  
“Recently stayed at the Shady Rest, I found the managers and staff to be very friendly and accommodating to our needs. The motel is very clean and fresh looking and the beds were so comfortable! I would highly recommend this motel to anyone!”

User: Toni W
Stacks Image 4404
Lovely stay at Shady
July 9, 2010 - Really Liked It  
“Stopped in on way home to Cairns, great greeting super clean and comfy room. As a traveller always looking for a comfy bed and great hot shower,found all that here and more. Hard to beat this lovely little motel.”

Users - Peta & Allan Maguire
Stacks Image 4459
Shady Rest Motel - a great place to stay
November 8, 2010 - Really Liked It  
“Hi anyone and everyone looking for a fantastic place to stay in Gympie Qld. We have just returned from a trip up that way and I was very very happy with the friendly service that I was greeted with. Great clean facilities including pool & bbq area in a quiet location. Our room was a family room and was clean neat and very well presented with a wonderful hot shower ( for those who enjoy a hot shower ). This motel is located at the North end of Gympie but was within a short drive to many destinations - for us we went up to research property and schools for a potential move into the area. The hosts Wes and Judy were very helpful with local information and fantastic recommendations... Oh by the way were also very understanding to my needs..... Thank you so much for providing a wonderful place to stay that felt like a home away from home.”

Google User
Stacks Image 8123
Friendliest & best value in town
October 1, 2010 - Really Liked It  
“Staying at the Shady Rest Motel was awesome. The staff were friendly & very obliging & made our stay relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble & they organised transport to the RSL Club for us. Would highly recommend anyone to stay there. Good value for money.”

User: TotalTraveller39747283
Shady Rest Motel
Useful Links
• Site Map
BOOKING TERMS AND CONDITIONS
RATES
Rates are subject to change without notice – please check when booking.
Extra persons in room $10
Surcharges may apply during peak periods
BOOKING CONFIRMATION
(Other than booking Agencies) – To confirm your reservation you will need to provide the following: 

▪ Your Residential address
▪ Current contact phone numbers
▪ Credit card details (for security purposes)

For multiple rooms or extended stay bookings, a deposit equal to the first nights booking may be payable.
CANCELLATION POLICY
Cancellations made with less than 24 hours notice prior to check-in-time, will be charged at full rate for the first night accommodation booked. Failure to check-in (No Show) will be charged as above.
PAYMENT OPTIONS
We accept Cash, Visa, Mastercard, Eftpos and American Express (Amex Cards will attract a 3.5% surcharge). Cheques will not be accepted unless by prior arrangement and paid in advance.
SHADY REST MOTEL PRIVACY POLICY
PRIVACY STATEMENT
The Shady Rest Motel respects your privacy. Any and all information collected at this Motel will be kept strictly confidential and will not be sold. rented, loaned or otherwise disclosed.
YOUR CONTACT DETAILS
Any information you give the Shady Rest Motel will be held with the utmost care and will not be used in ways that you have not consented to. Shady Rest Motel will ask you when it needs information that personally identifies you or allows us to contact you. Generally, this information is requested when you are asking for information or booking Shady Rest Motel accommodation.
Shady Rest Motel ABN 53 392 931 986 ©2017 All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement.